The Intriguing Man

(Seasonal Post)

I saw a man 
who was walking alone.  
He had well worn jeans, 
yellow-blond long hair, 
a husky chest, 
in a nice plaid shirt.  

I let him hitch a ride. 
He looked kinda old, intriguing, 
quite distinct, and of a happy soul.  

So I took him down the road 
to the local country store; 
he said he needed a few ingredients 
for a specific dinner guest. 

I dropped him off 
and he wanted to thank me. 
So for the following evening 
he invited me to a special dinner; 
but, that it all depended on the weather. 

He wanted to eat 
out in the fields. 
He said we would have 
a very nice meal. 

He owned the old barn 
just a few miles back, 
near the place I picked him up at.  

He said the pumpkins 
would light up the path, 
to a candle-light dinner 
under the star lit night; 
the time-he recommended, 8:00 o’clock.

My heart quickened, 
my stomach lurched; 
instincts told me, 
he would splurge. 

But something else 
said he would hide, 
upon my presence 
he would have boldly lied. 

What he needed 
was a gullible vainful woman; 
and that I am not, 
(a dense, self-absorbed person). 

So clearly I did not go, 
nor would I pass that road again; 
especially if it were night, 
when the living scarecrow 
would walk the land 
hoping for, an oblivious victim. 


3 thoughts on “The Intriguing Man

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.